Category Archives: Staff

News from Russell and Yelland

As we look ahead to 2019, we also look back on the highlights of 2018.

Caritas Building at Nazareth College Flinders Park, nestled on a tiny site between the existing school and the River Torrens, was completed just before Christmas. At Cabra College the new Music Centre was handed over at the end of last year, and construction has commenced on their new double court Gymnasium.

Construction of the Copperhouse Court Nursing Home Redevelopment at Whyalla is under way along with the new Senior Students Centre at St Josephs School, Port Lincoln. Concordia’s Nautilus Centre also won a commendation in the Learning Environments Australasia National Awards in May and Hariklia recently featured in a video of the building.

We completed a further six government STEM projects – four in Whyalla, one at Salisbury East High School and another at Seaford Secondary College and new STEM, library and learning areas at Stella Maris Parish School. It’s been great to see how the students have started to use these spaces for many different science and technology projects. Renal Units at Mt Gambier and Whyalla and a number of Master Plans for hospitals headlined our health work last year.

This year Russell and Yelland will celebrate its 80th birthday – so we have a great history to celebrate but much to look forward to in the future!

     follow us on facebook

John Held Awarded Presidents Medal

At this years South Australian Institute of Architects Awards, Director of Russell and Yelland Architects John Held was awarded the 2017 Sir James Irwin President’s Medal.
The Sir James Irwin President’s Medal is the highest accolade offered by the Australian Institute of Architects within South Australia.
When delivering the award current SA chapter president Mario Dreosti’s noted John’s contribution to industry “which has demonstrated core professional values of innovation in technologies, collaboration in our thinking, and in a willingness to lead and deliver vast amounts of voluntary contribution to the benefit of our whole industry”
The Sir James Irwin President’s Medal is awarded each year to a member or industry collaborative considered by the President to have made a significant contribution to architecture. It was established in 1992 through the generosity of the Irwin family in memory and in recognition of the services to architecture of Sir James Irwin. Previous recipients include Francesco Bonato, John Morhphett AM, OBE, LFRAI, John Schenk LFRAIA, Susan Phillips and Michael Pilkington.
A copy of the full citation can be found here